The Future Awards is Looking for Science Innovators and Inspiring Young People in Government- Nominations End June 30th

For the third year in a row, The Future Awards, referred to by the WorldBank as ‘The Nobel Prize for Young Africans’, is searching for the mostbrilliant young minds in Science, in addition to its yearly search for
the brightest minds in Technology.

For many years, what we have done is try to mirror the breakthroughs that young people have made in different fields and to sustain them,“said Chude Jideonwo, who is Executive Director of The Future Project.”In keeping with our _’Tear down these walls!’_ campaign this year, weare looking for the brightest young minds driving innovation and impactin science and/or technology with innovation or invention – through the category Innovator of the Year – Science and Technology.

The awards website explains the broad criteria for this category: We are searching for young people across science and technology (especially Information Technology) who have furthered the boundaries in these fields in terms of research or activity. There are a critical number of young Nigerians who are advancing impressive, practical innovations that can compare with the best around theworld. It will help if there is some kind of recognition or institutional buy-in for that work, and the work should be available for inspection.

“We are also beaming the search light on service,” Jideonwo said in explaining the Excellence in Service categories. “We are looking for young people in governance and the corporate sector whose work shines bright in driving effective, professionalism and impact, with integrity and productivity.”

It will be recalled that 2010, Ify Aniebo won the Best Use of
Science (also the biggest prize, Young Person of the Year) award for her ground-breaking work in malaria research, and in 2011, Debo Olaosebikan
won the award for his _work__ __on developing the world’s first electrically operated Silicon Laser, a project supported by a $6 million grant from the United States Department of Defense__._ In the same year, Tolulope Iroye won th eBest Use of Technology award for the ‘Magic box’; a device built to allow you control your electronic gadgets, for example, your TV from anywhere with your mobile phone as well as control electricity or mobilise/immobilise cars from anywhere in the world.

Nominations for the 2012 awards kicked off on the 29th of May and will continue until this Saturday, June 30. Town Hall Meetings have been holding across the country, including in Lagos, Rivers, Anambra, Adamawa
and Abuja. Nominees must be Nigerian citizens and must be aged 18 – 31. To nominate for this category, please go to

Other categories for the Awards this year include Best Use of Advocacy, Actor of the Year, Best Use of New Media, Entrepreneur of the Year in Media/Communication, Entertainment, Technology and Fashion; Designer of the Year, Innovator of the Year – Education, Creative Artist of the Year, Journalist of the Year, Magazine of the Year, Musician of the Year, Music Producer of the Year, On-Air Personality of the Year (Radio), On-Air Personality of the Year (TV), Excellence in Service – Journalism, Corporate and Government, Screen Producer of the Year, and
the biggest for Young Person of the Year.

Nominations end at midnight on June 30th (two days away!)

About the Future awards

Referred to by the World Bank as ‘Nobel Prize for young Africans” and “the biggest youth Awards in Africa” by the London Metropolitan University, The Future Awards continues to be the most influential and popular youth platform that identifies young people who have excelled at their work and by so doing inspire others, celebrates their
achievements, and showcases them as role models to inspire a generation of Africans to believe in themselves and the future of their countries.

With outreaches to Ghana, Ethiopia and South Africa, The Future Awards has been described by respected leaders as “Africa’s biggest youth event” and in six years, has produced 126 winners and over 1,000 nominees. Our mission at The FutureAwards is to inspire leadership and build enterprise.

The Future Awards presents winners and nominees from diverse backgrounds: from female farmer Mosunmola Umoru to internationally acclaimed author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, NASA scholar Tosin Otitoju to 1-second power change over inventor based in Ajegunle Otejiri Oghogori; Ndidi Nwuneli of LEAP Africa (MFR) to Dustbin Estate Advocate; Tolu
Sangosanya. The last winner for Young Person of the Year, was Rolex Award winner and farm technology entrepreneur Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu – this is a critical mass that are positioned as leaders and whose collective
influence can change the leadership equation for an evolving nation.


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>