The 2014 FIFA world cup starts today (and the world will be watching), and we are superduper excited about it! As we gear up for the opening ceremony and anticipate the sweaty passionate matches that will follow, we take a look at the fixtures for the next 14 days. The 2014 Fifa World Cup begins with hosts Brazil playing the tournament opener against Croatia. The month-long tournament sees 32 nations compete for a place in the final in Rio on Sunday, 13 July.

The opening match will be preceded by a ceremony in Sao Paulo that pays tribute to nature, people and football. Like the Olympic Games, this international event cannot begin without fanfare. As host, Brazil has planned an extraordinary show that will remind onlookers of the nation itself. There will be dancers, musicians, gymnasts, trampolines and more as the participants attempt to portray a story while also creating a feast for the eyes.

With months of preparation going into a 25-minute extravaganza, fans should expect quite a show. While the main show will feature many unrecognisable acts, it will end with a performance by some of the world`s biggest stars. Pitbull, Jennifer Lopez and Brazilian artist Claudia Leitte will come together to perform their new collaborative hit entitled “We Are One (Ole Ola)”.

Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff has said that she will not allow violent demonstrations to mar the World Cup. Thousands of extra police and soldiers will be deployed to ensure the matches get underway smoothly.

A capacity 65,000 crowd is expected for the opening match – check out the other matches that will be played for the first two weeks below:

Capture Capture1 Capture2 Capture3 Capture4 Capture5 Capture6 Capture7

After these only the countries that have qualified will move on to the next stage and we will be able to update you on the fixtures! Here are the groups:

Group A

  • Brazil
  • Croatia
  • Mexico
  • Cameroon

Group B

  • Spain
  • Netherlands
  • Chile
  • Australia

Group C

  • Colombia
  • Greece
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Japan

Group D

  • Uruguay
  • Costa Rica
  • England
  • Italy

Group E

  • Switzerland
  • Ecuador
  • France
  • Honduras

Group F

  • Argentina
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Nigeria
  • Iran

Group G

  • Germany
  • Portugal
  • Ghana
  • USA

Group H

  • Belgium
  • Algeria
  • Russia
  • Korea Republic

Here is an infographic you can save to your phone to easily help you remember the fixtures!


Yayyy! Aren’t you excited??!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.