OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA                                                                           Chiwetel Ejiofor

The British Academy Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) currently released the nomination categories for the annual award show to come up on the 16th of February this year.

The Award winning Nigerian-British actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor starred in  films like, Othello (2008), Dirty Pretty Things (2002), Children of Men (2006) and so many more. He is nominated for the Best Leading Actor award category, contending with award winning actors, Tom Hanks in Captain Philips, Leonardo Dicaprio in The Wolf of wall street, Bruce Dern in Nebraska and Christian Bale in American Hustle. BAFTA Awarded Chiwetel in 2006.

He may emerge as the winner for his distinct and outstanding act in 12 years of a slave. He told the BBC, “working on 12 Years a Slave was one of the greatest experiences I’ve had as an actor”. “To be received this way by Bafta is a really phenomenal moment,”

TWELVE YEARS A SLAVE                                     Chiwetel Ejiofor in 12 Years a Slave


                    Chiwetel Ejiofor in 12 Years a Slave

Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, starring  Idris Elba as the lead actor casting as the Late South African Ex-president, Nelson Mandela has been selected in the list for the award of the Most Outstanding Movie in 2014. Surprisingly, neither Idris Elba nor Naomie Harris have been nominated for any award based on their roles in the film. Apparently, both Idris and Naomie are British and this may earn them the award for casting in a South African Movie comfortably.

long-walk-to-freedom-img02 129203_ba

Idris Elba and Naomie Harris Long Walk to Freedom

Gravity stands out, scoring 11 nominations including Best Film and Best British Film with the lead star,Sandra Bullock up for Best Actress, while Alfonso Cuaron is nominated for Best Director. Bullock is contending for the Award with other top actresses, Amy Adams in American Hustle, Emma Thompson in Saving Mr. Banks, Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine and Judi Dench in Philomena.


Sandra Bullock Gravity


Sandra Bullock Gravity

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at London’s Royal Opera House on 16 February.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.