Nigeria’s highly influential music awards night, The Headies,2012 took place as scheduled on Saturday, 20th of October, 2012 at the Eko Hotel and Suites. It was a huge, huge gathering of stars from various arms of the entertainment industry who graced the yellow carpet in their dignifying numbers. it was a night of fun and glamor. Wish you were there! But then again, if you missed the award night, we bring you photos from the event. Enjoy!

Hosts, M.I & Omawunmi



Eva Alordiah

Funke Akindele


The event that was tagged Step into the Spotlight was nothing short of its title as artists from established names to up and coming acts were awarded for their unrelenting efforts in putting the best of outstanding music out there. Not only did music acts flood the place, celebrities from the movie industry and other fields were also present to light up the mood. M.I & Omawunmi did a fantastic job, hosting the event and getting the audience to laugh out loud every now and then with infusion of bits of comic remarks they let out.


Praiz & Toolz

Tunde & Wunmi Obe

Lady Bling

The Headies is an annual music awards night and is considered the biggest music night ever in the country. The Headies initially began as a Hip hop award ceremony but has since grown to making room for other music genres with its classic choice of the most outstanding performances in the industry.

Here’s the list of winners at this year’s event:

Best RnB Singer – May D – Soundtrack

Best Pop Single – Iyanya – Kukere

Best Rap Single – Angeli -Vector ft 9ice

Best RnB/Pop Album – P Square

Best Street Hop –Chuddy K

Best RnB Pop Album – P Square

Best Rap Album – Ice Prince – E.L.I

Best Vocal Performance (Male) – Wande Coal– Private Trips

Best Vocal Performance (Female) – Tiwa Salvage– Love Me Love Me Love Me

Best Collaboration – Sound Sultan ft Excel and Flavour – Orobo

Revelation of the Year – Wizkid

Recording of the Year – Brymo – Ara

Best Label Head – Banky W

Producer of the Year – TY Mix – Super C Season (Naeto C)

Lyricist on the Roll – Vector – Angeli

Next Rated – Davido

African Artist of the Year – Sarkodie (Ghana) Azonto

Artiste of the Year – Wizkid

Album of the Year – Psquare – The Invasion

Best Music Video (Director) – Jude Okoye – Chop My Money

Song of the Year – D’banj – Oliver Twist

Headies Hall of Fame – Femi Kuti

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.