Bovi at the MTV Base studio

On this week’s episode of MTV Base’s  Official Naija Top Ten, popular Nigerian comedian and actor, Bovi was the studio guest and as expected he gave everyone a good laugh during the chart countdown.

The comedian, who co-hosted this week’s show with MTV Base VJ Ehiz, joins in the frenzy of this week’s number one video, ‘Surulere’ by Dr Sid featuring Mavin boss, Don Jazzy.


Bovi & Ehiz at the MTV Base studio

With many celebrities posting “before” and “after” photos of themselves, using the “Surulere” hashtag on social media, Bovi stated that some Nigerian celebrities have avoided putting up any photos as they never experienced suffering while growing up, commenting that: “Some of our celebrities like Davido have never seen or experienced suffering. He can’t even put up one “Surulere” picture because his past is brighter than some people’s future.”


Bovi at the MTV Base studio

Bovi, who revealed this week’s chart with Ehiz, also threw a light but hilarious jab at Star Boy, Wizkid. He said, “Wizkid is the only Nigerian boy who adds to his age while others keep reducing theirs. I believe he has never shaved before because he is just sixteen and if he is really older than that, I dare him to put up his birth certificate on Instagram to prove his real age!”


Bovi, Ehiz & Dr Sid

Mavin signee, Dr Sid stayed number one on this week’s chart for the second week with his monster single, “Surulere” and Fast rising artist, Patoranking is hot on Dr Sid’s heels at number two with “Girlie O”.


Bovi & Ehiz

Burna Boy falls three places down to number five as Davido and Ice Prince move up one notch each with the singles, “Aye” and “Jambo”.

Other artists on this week’s chart include 2Face, Wizkid, Phyno and Jesse Jagz, among others.


Bovi at the MTV Base studio

The MTV Base Official Naija Top 10: March 28 – 3 April 2014:

1. Dr Sid feat. Don Jazzy – Surulere

2. Patoranking – Girlie O

3. 2Face ft T-Pain – Rainbow remix

4.Jesse Jagz ft. Wizzkid- Bad Girl

5.Burna Boy – Yawa Dey

6.Davido- Aye

7. Ice Prince – Jambo

8. Seyi Shay – Ragga Ragag

9. Wizkid – On Top Your Matter

10. Phyno – Parcel

Every week, the MTV Base Official Naija Top 10 is put together by an elite panel of judges comprising Nigerian broadcasters, music specialists and tastemakers, working with MTV Base to pick the winners and losers in the week’s chart.


Ehiz at the MTV Base studio

On the panel are DJ Humility (Rhythm FM), DJ Jimmy Jatt, DJ Xclusive (Cool FM), Big Time (Rhythm FM), DJ Caise (The Beat FM), Toolz (The Beat FM) and Osagie Alonge (Nigerian Entertainment Today).

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinby feather

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.